Forum OpenACS Improvement Proposals (TIPs): TIP #10 (Approved): Automation of Installation Process

I wanted to hear what people think about automating the installation process of all needed components of openacs/dotlrn (Postgres/Oracle, Aolserver, OpenACS/dotLRN, different supporting tools).

I was thinking about bash scripts that would cover all sections of the installation documentation: https://openacs.org/doc/openacs-4-6-3/unix-install.html

This set of bash scripts could consist of i.e. one bash script for each section of the installation documentation and one additional bash script for a complete installation.

I have never worked with rpms before and only heard that they were not that easy to create.

Did anyone already work on something like that or put some thought into it? If I remember correctly this topic has been mentioned recently on the bboard. It was in connection with documentation and how time consuming it was to keep it updated.

Collapse
Posted by Jade Rubick on
David, I think this is a great idea. This would address one of our biggest weaknesses, I think.
Collapse
Posted by Frank N. on
This is something I have considered making in the past, but didn't work on in earnest as I'm not the world's greatest bash hacker. 😊

There are several reasons why we might need the flexibility of bash over a Linux dist format like RPMs or Debs, like being able to support different architectures (FreeBSD, OS X). We would need to pass a large number of parameters to the install process, which could be through a single, global and well commented config file. Then there are source modifications (OpenFTS doesn't even compile 'out-of-the-box' on FreeBSD), PG tuning (BLCKSZ, shared memory segment size, kernel limits, --enable-locale --enable-multibyte), format and location of startup scripts etc. Loads of fun! 😉