Forum OpenACS Q&A: Re: Top Ten Priorities for OpenACS ... what are yours?

Collapse
Posted by Sean Harrison on
I've been reading this thread with great interest, but I'm replying to Joel's query for input from newbies.

I think I qualify in that regard. I have been working with OpenACS for about five months, completely in my spare time. So I'm not yet productive as a developer, but I think I'm far enough along that I can see how things fit together.

As a result, there are three things that would significantly improve the functioning of OpenACS, as I would use it.

#1. Content-based URLs everywhere, based on position in the web hierarchy and the content of the object.

Currently, OpenACS presents many object URLs that include database query syntax involving the system-internal object ID. For instance, bug-tracker, forums, and file-storage all present a URL that includes that syntax.

By contrast, the edit-this-page package presents URLs that are content-oriented, which hide the object ID and the database syntax from the user.

This should be the system default: To hide the object ID, which is not meaningful to the end-user, and to present a permanent URL that is oriented toward the object's content.

Every OpenACS object has a "context," which consists of its position in the site hierarchy. Most objects also have an attribute that could be used to identify it unequivocally, based on its "content." For instance, every bug in bug-tracker has a bug number. The URL to bug #20 should simply be "myserver.org/path/to/bug-tracker/bug/20". Each forum could be given a "name", such as what edit-this-page has for each page. So the OpenACS Q&A forum could be openacs.org/forums/q-and-a. Each forum message could be numbered starting with #1, as qmail does with its mailing lists (ezmlm), so the first message in the Q&A forum would be openacs.org/forums/q-and-a/messages/1.