Forum OpenACS Q&A: Response to Building a high-capacity, high-availability OpenACS solution...

I'll address #2, the hardware platform:

I disagree with the fellow who had "issues" with SMP Intel systems. I have been running dual processor linux machines for several years (in production environments). If you pick decent motherboards, and use recent kernels, you'll be just fine. Stock RH 6.2 comes with an SMP-friendly kernel.

The boards I've had extensive experience with are:

Supermicro P6DBE (BX board)
Supermicro P6DGS (GX board)
Intel 810EAL (i810 board)

I've been using these in production environments under Linux, NT4, and Win2K Server with current uptimes in the hundreds of days. For SMP machines, I like the GX board a little better since it has an integrated dual channel SCSI controller (Adaptec 789X) and supports 2GB of SDRAM.

Avoid Intel 820/840 boards like the plague unless you are going to spring for RDRAM. I took the plunge a few months ago and had *major* problems with *every* 820/840 board tested with SDRAM. They are ALL extremely unstable.

You'll also want to spring for a nice hardware RAID card like the Mylex ExtremeRAID 1100. I'm using one of these with 9 18gig Seagate Cheetahs in RAID 5 mode. It's not as fast as software RAID, but it seems to be less fragile. The drivers for this card are mature and it is the speed king for hardware RAID on Linux these days.