Forum OpenACS Q&A: Response to Future directions for OpenACS

Collapse
Posted by Michael Feldstein on
OK, I'm not a programmer, so my perspective is a bit different. I have to make recommendations to clients about how to solve their problems. Now, I don't really care if the solution is written in Java, tcl, or Logo. I just want to know that what I'm recommending (a) will work, (b) will continue to work, and (c) will not take so many resources to make/keep it working that we lose sight of the business problem we're trying to solve. So far, I've never heard anyone say that a Java version of the ACS will be more reliable, more scalable, easier to maintain, easier to interface with a database, or easier to customize. Quite the opposite. (I have to go by what people tell me since I don't have the expertise to judge for myself). The only thing I've heard on technical merits is that a Java version might be faster.

On the other hand, what I do hear a lot is that clients have a much easier time finding good Java programmers and that they have a comfort level with Java. It doesn't really matter how easy tcl is to learn; that's just not the way most of these organizations work. Furthermore, it sounds like it will take a very serious organizational effort to jumpstart AOLServer development. I'm not talking about patches and life support; unless there is a real, committed development team that will keep the platform moving forward--beyond just point releases--it seems to me that AOLServer will die as a platform that is useful to a community beyond AOL. It may take a long time to die, but die it will.