Forum .LRN Q&A: A view questions about .LRN

Collapse
Posted by Sascha Jakob on
Hello folks,

i am a student of a german academy.
At the moment I have to evaluate the .LRN system and the community. So, I have a few questions to you.

On the .LRN download site https://openacs.org/projects/dotlrn/download i could not find some information about features of the different versions. E. g. whats new or something. Is there anywhere a history list where I can get these information.

Since when does this community exist?
How many people are involved on the develop of .LRN?
How old is the .LRN System?

I am really glad if someone can help me.
Thank you

Yours sincerely
Sascha

Collapse
Posted by Bruce Spear on
Dear Sascha:
Thanks very much for your inquiry! I'll offer a first response, and I'm sure others will add/correct things I've left out or not explained very well.
Dotlrn is commonly understood as a "thin skin" on top of the openacs developer toolkit, a collection of powerful, integrated web tools developed over the past ten years. A brief history is available on the Openacs site, and there is a brief list of Openacs companies and hosting services representing the larger community. Some people have estimated that there are a few thousand developers who have used this kit in recent years, a few hundred are using it now, about 150 are active in the forums over a few months, and about 30 developers have the rights to add code to "head", the most current collection of code from which releases are made from time to time.