Forum OpenACS Q&A: Response to Priorities, Roles, and the future of OpenACS

Collapse
Posted by Talli Somekh on
As perhaps the first person who suggested that a foundation or a steering committee be installed, I feel somewhat responsible for these discussions.

I understand Jerry's proposition because I advocated it originally. I no longer feel that way for a few reasons:

* I had some private exchanges with Ben and others that made me convinced me reasonably otherwise.

* I saw some of the ugly fights that were taking place on the Jabber mailing list, ones that made these discussions seem civil.

* I studied some of the other open source projects and realized that what drove these applications probably weren't their beuracracy but the money companies hoped to make off of them.

* Ben, Don, Roberto and Dan admitted their leadership positions.

I am personally comfortable with these four guys as the leaders of the community. They have invested more time and energy in making sure that the software worked, there was a space for people to discuss how to use it and organized a massive effort to port a few hundred thousand lines of code to another DB. Also, they built and rolled out new applications to make OpenACS a much better product than what aD abandoned.

For the foreseeable future, I think these guys will continue to do a great job. Ben has evangelized the OpenACS longer and better than anyone else, Roberto has done yeoman's work building the docs, Dan fixes bugs within an hour of their submission and Don has led a tremendous technical effort, one that probably rivals anything else in the OSS field. I commend their leadership and I accept their positions delightfully.