Forum OpenACS Q&A: A general-ratings package for OACS

I am new to ACS, and have a lot of experience in web-based KM
development. The design and development of a "general-ratings"
module is something I'd like to work on.

I think the idea would be to allow the creation of "rating-
dimensions." Each dimension would have it's
own "scale," "description," and "instructions." The scale would be a
numeric range or a list of "phrase value pairs." The description
would be the "title." The instructions could be additional help text
available to a user. Each rating-dimension could be associated with
one or more objects in the system. A rating would be a relationship
among a user, an object, a rating-dimension, and a point on the
rating-dimension's scale.

This could be an object-level service. Users could rate other users,
themselves, a bboard answer, or an entire bboard instance. It would
depend upon the application.

I'd be interested to know if anyone has any caveats, ideas, or
interest in this sort of thing.

Looking forward to it.

Collapse
Posted by Jonathan Ellis on
I wrote some code for this in 3.2 that assumes a rating is an integer from 1 to N. Like the 3.x general-comments, it assumes you want to rate an object in a table.

It only took half an hour to write so forget about admin tools or anything else fancy (ad_general_ratings_form assumes the user is already logged in, for instance) but may serve you as a starting point. I've put it up here.

Collapse
Posted by Michael Feldstein on
This package (or service-contract, to be more precise) sounds
like it does pretty much everything I'd want to do with a
general-ratings tool. I'd love to see this get done.
Collapse
Posted by Don Baccus on
I've already welcomed Dean privately but would like to take the opportunity to welcome him in public, as well.

So ... welcome!