Forum OpenACS Q&A: New & looking for shopping cart

Collapse
Posted by Michael _ on
Hello; I'm new to OpenACS, although a longtime C and TCL programmer.

I'm interested in building a small website to sell a few products, and am out looking for a shopping-cart package.  Since I'm familiar with, and comfortable using, AOLServer and PostGres, OpenACS seems like a good platform to use for my project.

However, I don't see in the FAQ any direct reference to e-commerce or shopping carts.

Is this something that exists? Does anyone know if there is a shopping cart package that I can use to build my website around?  Or other prepackaged e-commerce type solutions?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated; thank you all in advance.

Michael

Collapse
Posted by Torben Brosten on
Hi Michael,

There's an e-commerce package, but it's designed toward high volume websites with many products or regular, returning customers.

There's some procs in there that interface with the free paypal shopping service:

http://cvs.openacs.org/browse/OpenACS/openacs-4/packages/ecommerce/tcl/paypal-procs.tcl?r=1.1

If you're looking for something with a minimum cost overhead, you can build from these procs to interface with paypal using whatever data model you currently have.

cheers,

Torben

Collapse
Posted by Michael _ on
Hi, Torben;

Thanks. That's an interesting comment about being oriented specifically towards high volume and so on.  Does that mean there is some downside to using it on a site with low volume or few products, or which has mostly new customers?

I was planning on using Paypal to start, but wanted to leave open the possibility of taking credit cards directly later.  That's what I mostly needed help with; I can build websites and JavaScript, but I'm fuzzy on financial software and am hoping to find something that will do most of the work of credit card or PayPal processing.  Also calculation of taxes & shipping.

Any thoughts on that?

Michael

Collapse