Forum .LRN Q&A: External Authentication

Collapse
Posted by Alfred Essa on
I wanted to post some questions about achieving external authentication, which everyone would agree should be available in dotLRN. I am not a developer so pardon me if I am not understanding the technical issues properly. There seem to several approaches and I would look to receive some comments:
  • Write a separate interface for each external authentication service as need (ldap, kerberos, x.509, radius, etc); this is the one-off approach;
  • Write something general? within OpenACS/dotLRN and implement different instances;
  • Expose authentication as a web service. I am not sure what this means exactly, but is it feasible to expose LDAP authentication service, for example, as a web service and then have .LRN utilize it?
  • Implement Open Knowledge Initiative (OKI) APIs, which are currently expressed in Java;
I am particularly interested in the the web service approach. Is this worth investigating?

What do people recommend for us getting off the ground with achieving external authentication. How should we be attacking this? Is this a difficult problem? What kind of resources/funding will be required?

Collapse
Posted by Carl Robert Blesius on

I would like to see a generalized solution in OpenACS (something that would allow anyone to add new authentication sources as needed without intimate knowledge of OpenACS). What would be the best way to do this? Is there a way to do it that would allow us to tap into existing code (e.g. pam modules[1])? What about...

• External authentication without loosing the "I forgot my password... please send me a new one" function
  • Fallback mechanisms: e.g. check LDAP... if not in LDAP check Active Directory... if not in AD check the OpenACS DB