Forum OpenACS Q&A: Re: Greenpeace: Pay up!

Collapse
5: Re: Greenpeace: Pay up! (response to 1)
Posted by Randy Ferrer on
"I urge other developers to boycott ad_form until Greenpeace cleans up their mess and promises to pay for any code and documentation changes resulting for future incompatible alterations of ad_form, or bug fixes required."
No way and here's why...

I'm new to developing in the oacs environment and if I were to take this attitude, I would be in for some serious disappointment working with the toolkit. Since ad_form is the piece of code in question let me address that. I've been using it and enjoy working with it. It was a bit of a puzzle at first. I looked at Jon Griffin's docs, went through the code and have gone through much of the forum. It took a bit of effort, but I feel the benefits are well worth the results. Do I have more questions - sure. Are Greenpeace and/or Don responsible for this? Of course not. At the end of the day, I chose to use the code - after all, there are other avenues open to accomplish what I intend. I also chose to use OACS as a development platform for some of my projects - 'nough said.