Forum .LRN Q&A: dotLRN accessibility study

Collapse
Posted by Tristan Kalnins-Cole on
Hi, my name is Tristan and I am currently in my final year of a software engineering degree at Sydney University. At the moment I am writing my thesis under the supervision of Rafael Calvo. In a nutshell, I am performing an accessibility study on dotLRN to see how it complies with current accessibility standards (such as the W3C WCAG).

The main goal of my thesis is to produce a set of guidelines that can be used by dotLRN developers and implementers to aid them in producing accessible pages. Any advice, critisicm, or discussion would be invaluable to me as you all know much more about dotLRN than I do and would aid me in producing useful and reliable guidelines.

I have made available my partial draft thesis for anyone who is interested in reading more about it. It can be found at:
http://www.members.optus.net/kcfamily/DotLRN/PartialThesisDraft.htm
or the .doc version:
http://www.members.optus.net/kcfamily/PartialThesisDraft.doc (3.1 MB)

Thanks for your time.
- Tristan Kalnins-Cole.

Collapse
Posted by Alfred Essa on
Wonderful. Thank you for undertaking this. We will start looking at your work.
Collapse
I have finished testing my default installation of DotLRN. At the moment I am compiling all the results and information into an organized format. I will list here a summary of the results until the complete version is available.

Priority 1
There are only a few issues that need to be considered, most of which are related to images and alt text (for example the spacer images have no alt text descriptions). It should be straightforward to achieve priority 1 compliance.

Priority 2