Forum .LRN Q&A: Input sought from distance educators

This is a permanent thread inviting current and prospective users of Blackboard, WebCT, Prometheus, or other course management systems to post their questions, complaints, and wish lists for dotLRN. Please let us know what you want to see in a system like dotLRN. Current community members, please post the URL for this thread anywhere that it will get attention from our target user base.
Collapse
Posted by Lamar Owen on
I'm a professor with Anchor Baptist Bible College, as well as many other roles (including internet guru here, PostgreSQL RPM maintainer, nspostgres driver maintainer, and a few others).  We are test-driving dotLRN for our needs.

The biggest thing I can see for distance education for us is online testing, whether multiple choice, fill in the blank, or essay questions.  ArsDigita's Quizze module did a great job on multiple choice tests -- however, unless I am missing something, OACS doesn't have this module.

Also, a gradebook portlet for professors would be nice; transcript utilities for the registrar (with import from the gradebook, course); a catalog portlet (with interactive preregistration) would be cool as well.  As I think of other things we could use I'll post.

Collapse
Posted by Don Baccus on
Malte Sussedorf has kindly made available an exam module they wrote for a client.  Lamar, if you want to evaluate it I'll send you a tarball (e-mail me directly)

It's an OpenACS package that at the moment only supports Oracle but it didn't look like porting it would be hard.

Turning it into a dotLRN package would be easy, a couple days work ...

I have no idea whether or not it would suit your needs but it would be interesting to get your opinion.

Collapse
Posted by Rafael Calvo on
Don
This (porting to PG) sounds like it could be a a short project for someone here. Would you like me to list it. Other projects are at:
http://www.weg.ee.usyd.edu.au/people/rafa/projects/
Collapse